KOTESOL Seoul Chapter Annual Conference

Some people have a Poker Face. I have a Teacher Face.

For some reason, March is conference season in KOTESOL. Earlier in the month, I traveled down to Gwangju to present at their conference. Two weeks later, I gave about 90% of the same presentation in Seoul. Recycling is good for everyone. Or so I hear. I would say that my presentation in Seoul benefited from being replayed again so soon. It went much more smoothly, and I was able to tweak a few things to add a little more to some parts and cut one or two things which I didn’t think were carrying their weight, if you know what I mean.

I presented on classroom activities, as usual. This time, I focused on card games and online sources of free/ inexpensive resources for making homemade cards. Sometimes, I feel like eslHQ should put me on their payroll, because I’m always pushing their website, but then I remember how much free stuff I get and it all works out, I guess. Several people emailed me after to tell me how helpful the information was, and that’s always a good feeling. 🙂

Stafford was elected president of Seoul Chapter, so I’ve agreed to come back on the executive, as long as it doesn’t interfere with my weekend travels. It should mean that I make it to more chapter meetings, at least. Over the past year or so, I’ve felt like my KOTESOL time has all been council meetings, and I’ve haven’t been attending monthly workshops at all regularly, even though I find them helpful and motivating. So, I guess my Spring Resolution (that could be a thing) is to attend chapter workshops more regularly.

