Duran Duran!!!!

Being ahem of a certain age, my first (imaginary) husbands were all members of Duran Duran. Unfortunately, my mother thought it important for me to sleep on school nights, so when they played in Baton Rouge in 1984, I was the ONLY person not allowed to go. (Not that I am at all still bitter or nursing a grudge, you understand.)

Fast forward about 1,000 years to 2008, and Duran Duran were playing one night only, their first show in Korea since 1989. I was working in Bundang, about a 45 minute subway ride from the venue, but I had to work until 8:30 and they started playing at 8:00. To this day I am proud of my professionalism for not calling in that day, or suddenly falling ill at 7:00. But I digress.

On 12 March, 2012, Duran Duran returned to Korea and played at the same venue at Jamsil, the Olympic Park Hall. I just started teaching at a university, but I alternate morning and evening classes each week and the show happened to fall during my morning week. Even better, Craig’s monthly trip to Oman was cancelled, so he was able to go with me.

I wasn’t sure what to expect, honestly. I’ve been to that venue before for non-music events and didn’t think the acoustics were that great. Also, Simon is in his 50s now and his voice was ummm iffy in its prime.

I was totally blown away. The venue only holds about 2,000 people, so our seats near the back weren’t bad at all. Simon sounded great and the acoustics were fine. The only quibble I have about the entire show is that the stage lights flashing into the crowd were so bright, that none of my photos came out– they all just show the lights. I can live with that, though. I’ve still got my photos of John and Andy from the Powerstation show I saw in 1985. Somewhere.

They were about half an hour late starting the show, but there was no opening act, so it wasn’t that big of a deal. The set was a mix of hits and new material:

Encore:

Some of the new ones weren’t really my taste, but some of them would have been in full-time rotation in my 15-year-old bedroom. That’s all you can really ask for, I think, if your teen favorites continue to produce new music. I don’t want to hear them trying to sound like Justin Bieber, that’s for sure. I didn’t like everything on their albums back then, so I don’t have that expectation now. I’m just happy they are still putting out new music and touring.

