Deep-Fried Mars Bars,… er, Pan-Fried Snickers Bars

Ever since I tried deep-fried Mars bars in Hong Kong, I’ve been trying to figure out how to recreate the experince at home. There are two problems with this scenario. One, I always felt it would be a very, very bad idea to learn how to deep fry. So, I never did. Two, Mars bars are not that common in these here parts.

When there is chocolate-y goodness at stake, I am not one to let such minor issues hold me back, though. If I put my mind to it, I could solve the world’s ecnomic problems. If they were keeping me from chocolate, that is.

So, after much thought, it occured to me that heodduk, Korean “pancakes” made of rice flour dough with a melted walnut sugar middle, had the heft to keep their shape around a mini-Snickers (Mars bars’ more delicious, and widely available, cousin).

I wasted no time procuring some heodduk mix and mini-Snickers and got to work. Heodduk is easy to make with a mix. You mix 1/3 c boiling water with 2/3 c cool water. Pour the water over the yeast, then stir in the flour mixture. Let it rise for ten minutes, then it is ready to go.

All you need for pan fried snickers.

The mix I got was for eight servings, so I divided it into eight roughly equal pieces. I flattened it a bit and put a Snickers in the middle, then wrapped the dough around it and tried to seal any gaps.

Divide the dough.

Add the snickers.

When the oil was hot, I put them in the skillet and let them brown on one side then turned, smooshing them a bit, like the heodduk ladies do.

Ready to fry.

And the results? Meh. I had the heat on medium at first, and that was too high. If I make them again, it will be over a low flame, so the outside doesn’t burn before the chocolate melts. The first four were too done on the outside, because the flame was too high. Of the other four, I ate one, and Craig ate two, although I think he was just being nice. Mine was okay, but would need some tweaking before being a success.

Ready to eat!

I’m not giving up that easily, though. It was good enough to encourage me to keep trying. 🙂

