English Heritage Overseas Visitors Pass

So, if you are still with me after the many, many thousands of words I’ve written about What I Did on My Summer Vacation, then you may be interested in the English Heritage Overseas Visitors Pass. This is the pass that I got for our trip, and it was not only a bargain for the Hadrian’s Wall portion of our trip, but whenever we hit the road, we looked at the handbook we received to see what sites were on the way. As it turned out, lots. For £21.50, I got free entry to the following places:

Hadrian’s Wall points of interest: (I’ve shown their usual entrance fee, which is waved with membership or overseas visitor’s pass.)

(* Not an EH site, but there is a 10% discount with EH membership, but the Joint Site ticket is 20% off combined cost with Roman Army Museum. I gave the Joint Site ticket price.)

Other places we visited:

  • Aydon Castle                                                  £3.80
  • Dunstanburgh Castle                                   £4.00
  • Whitby Abbey                                                £6.00

The only heritage site we visited that was not an English Heritage site was Inner Farne. That was a National Trust site. There are a handful of jointly administered sites, but we ran into a guy selling NT memberships outside of Dunstanburgh Castle, which is not one of them. LOL I wonder how many people gave him an earful on their way back to town.

I would strongly recommend joining before taking a trip to the UK. I definitely got my money’s worth, not only because I saved a few pounds on entry fees, but because the handbook is divided by region and gives clear directions, opening hours, and other info about each site. In fact, many of the places we visited we only found out about from the handbook.

